Anti-matter Particles Record 1

I am your anti-matter

Anti-matter Particles Record 1

Why do you want to make an object (or Art) come alive when it is also dead?

I AM YOUR ANTI-MATTER” is created by Li E Chen for “Collecting Anti-matter Particles” through each visit of IMPROBABLE’s D&D SATELLITE and Open Space events. Li E Chen will be experimenting it through a journey of running and attending Improbable’s Monthly D&D SATELLITE.

In one of the group discussions, I was very fascinated by Penny Francis’ comments,  (if I recorded correctly), she said every object has its own life, puppeteers/artists discover life from the object. It is a journey that the artists/puppeteers discover life from the object and bring them into life. Her comment left me more curious about the life of an object (puppet/visual arts/sculpture/painting/play/poetry/dance/music/etc) and how the others who discovers their life of objects and what their journey of discovery are.

There was also another session I went to “What is a puppeteer?”, when the person called out the question, my immediate response to the question, “An object, a dead object!” I don’t know why I think that, after a second thought, “A puppeteer is a person/a human being, I got confused with myself mixing live and death. In the conversation, I realized the most interesting dancer I have seen now, it was the dancer who become the object. The artists who turn themselves becoming the art works.The writer who has made their writing becoming an object. But one thing, the live and the death is very clear to the artists who set and carry the tasks out. They don’t mix up the live and death, even their works give the confusion and blur your visions. To me, every move of an object is very simple, like the binary codes of “1″ and “0″, very clear, very precise, very simple; like walking, left and right, or matching, speeding up of your move. Then, discovering a journey of life through the death object?

Date 19th April 2011, at the The People Show Studios E2 6NB from the event on Devoted & Disgruntled: What are we going to do about Puppetry?

Mapping out comments on discussion of the ‘Object of life and death’ from below:

About liechen

Li-E Chen's current research and artistic development projects are around 'nothing', 'anti-matter', 'no records match this set of find requests'.

6 comments

  1. Paul

    Hi, I think that there are some confusion with terminology. There are several definitions to the word objects. If the object is defined as a thing than it cannot be dead because it was never alive. The puppet seems to have an apparent life but it actually doesn’t have any. It is a “borrowed” life given to the object by the performer and the audience. Of course people believing in animism do think that objects have an inner life, but it is a belief.
    By the way, it is very difficult to make a puppet walk.

    • Hi Paul,
      Many thanks for your comment. Is the confusion between art and a thing? It is really interesting you said, “If the object is defined as a thing than it cannot be dead because it was never alive.” When everything turns into just the things, they’re just limitation. What if I don’t believe in animism or “borrowed” life given to the object by the performer and audience, what would the object’s life be?

  2. Paul

    Hi Li,
    What is unclear is when you write ‘it was the dancer who become the object’. How do you define object in that sentence? A dancer is a human being and therefore cannot be an object if it is defined as a thing. But maybe you mean something else which I would like to understand as it can be very interesting.
    The mode of existence of a thing is different from a human being. An object is what it is. Some people would argue that human people are what they are not and are not what they are. This is what separate them from objects.
    I don’t think that there is a life in object. Life is actually what is not present in a puppet. It is imagined by the audience. I must say that talking of a ‘borrowed life’ is quite unclear I should have said ‘imagined life’.

    • Hi Paul, sorry I don’t quite know how to explain it clearly. But I saw this artist’s installation text by Rabih Mroue last week and think this may answer your reply about life, object and imagined life. Not sure if this make sense?

      “The people are demanding
      I could have been with any name.
      I could have been merely a number with no name.
      I could have been a persona, which
      exists in the work of art.
      I could have been entirely fictional.
      I could have been an image or a plot in a movie sequence, with a narrative structure.
      I could have been in any location at any time, if Catherine had not shouted out my name twice, Rabih! Rabih!”

      I really like your comment that “Life is actually what is not present in a puppet. It is imagined by the audience.”

      I’m still thinking about it…??

  3. Very interesting, I will come back to you this as I will need to draw them out and put your words into pictures so that I can see clearly the relationship between all. Or maybe I won’t be able to make it clear, I will see if I can find some references and come back to you later.

  4. When dancers or actors or artists work as the sculptures or objects or things or numbers or someone else, their imagination give life to the things. Every objects can have life if people give imagination to it. What about if dancers or actors or writers or artists work on the thing of ‘nothing’, can their imagination give life to the ‘nothing’ too?

    Does everything mean nothing too? Can people give up everything or what are the things that people can’t give up?

    Can people see nothing or imagine nothing? (To create ‘nothing’ as an object, so that it can be experienced even nothing can be seen or touched.)
    Can people see nothing or imagine nothing? (To create ‘nothing’ as an object, so that it can be experienced even nothing can be seen or touched.)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

